From the ICA News, No. 68 (June 2017) at https://icaci.org/ica-news-68-now-online/:

When the ICA was first formed in June 1959, the United States (US) was one of the 13 founding member nations, along with Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Finland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Today, the US is represented in ICA through the auspices of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society (CaGIS). CaGIS is composed of educators, researchers, and practitioners involved in the design, creation, use, and dissemination of maps and geographic information. The mission of the Society is to support research, education, and practice that improve the understanding, creation, analysis, and use of maps and geographic information to support effective decision-making and improve the quality of life. The Society supports four primary activities: membership in and involvement by the US cartographic community in the ICA, the biennual AutoCarto international research symposium, the annual CaGIS Map Design Competition, and, for some, most importantly, publication of the *Cartography and Geographic Information Science* academic research journal. Esri, Intergraph Corporation – Part of Hexagon Group, East View Geospatial, and the US Geological Survey are affiliated with the ICA through the US.

A brief history of the Society and its close association with ICA follows.

- In 1941, the American Congress for Surveying and Mapping (ACSM) was formed.
- In 1950, the Cartography Division was formed as part of ACSM.
- In June 1959, the ICA was formed, with the US as a founding member, and ACSM became the US adhering body.
- In 1959, Duncan M. Fitchet served as US representative on the ICA Provisional Executive Committee (EC) (until 1961)
- In 1961, Granville Emminizer was elected to the first ICA Executive Committee as a Vice President (VP) and served for two terms.
- In 1968, Brice Burroughs was elected to the ICA EC as a VP.
- In 1972, Arthur Robinson was President the ICA (until 1976).
- In April 1974, the American Cartographer began publication as a biannual journal.
- In 1974, the first International Symposium on Computer-Assisted Cartography (later to become AutoCarto) was held in Reston, Virginia.
- In 1976, Arthur Robinson served on the ICA EC as a VP (until 1980)
- In 1978, the 9th International Cartographic Conference was held in College Park, Maryland.
- In 1979, the Cartography Division of ACSM gave its first Award for Meritorious Service to the Discipline of Cartography to Arthur Robinson (this was alter renamed the CaGIS Distinguished Career award).
- In 1980, Joel Morrison was elected to the ICA EC as a VP (until 1987).
- In January 1981, ACSM was reorganized, with the American Cartographic Association (ACA) as an official member organization.
- In 1981, Arthur Robinson received the ICA Carl Mannerfelt Gold Medal, ICA's highest distinction.
- In 1981, Joel Morrison was elected to the ICA EC as President (until 1987).

- In January 1985, the *American Cartographer* became a quarterly publication.
- In 1987, Joel Morrison served on the ICA EC as Past President (until 1991).
- In January 1990, the American Cartographer was renamed Cartography and Geographic Information Systems.
- In 1991, Barbara Bartz Petchenik was the first woman to be elected to the ICA EC; she served as a VP though she died after a short illness in June 1992.
- In 1992, the US appointed Judy Olson was appointed to the ICA EC to complete Barbara Bartz Petchenik's term as a VP (until 1995)
- In 1993, the biennial Barbara Petchenik Children's World Map Drawing Competition was created by the ICA as a memorial of Petchenik's lifelong interest in maps for children.
- In 1995, Judy Olson was elected to the ICA EC as a VP (until 1999).
- In April 1996, the ACA was renamed the Cartography and Geographic Information Society, and a strategic plan was developed that was more inclusive of geographic information systems and science.
- In January 1999, Cartography and Geographic Information Systems was renamed Cartography and Geographic Information Science.
- In 1999, Robert McMaster was elected to the ICA EC and served for two terms (until 2007).
- In 2001, Joel Morrison received the Carl Mannerfelt Gold Medal.
- In January 2004, ACSM reorganized as a federation, and CaGIS became an independent society.
- In 2007, Tim Trainor was elected to the ICA EC as a VP and served for two terms (until 2015).
- In 2007, Jack Dangermond received the Carl Mannerfelt Gold Medal.
- In 2015, Lynn Usery was elected to the ICA EC as a VP.
- In July 2017, the 28th International Cartographic Conference was held in Washington, DC.



Members of the USNC and other Americans attend the 2015 International Cartographic Conference in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. (Picture courtesy of Eric Anderson.)