AutoCarto 2022

Ethics in Mapping:
Integrity, Inclusion, and Empathy

CaGIS proudly presented AutoCarto 2022, the 24th International Research Symposium on cartography and GIScience, with its focus on the intersection of the two.

AutoCarto 2022 brought attention to the ethical responsibilities we face in all aspects of our practice, provided a forum for discussion on the power of maps and spatial analyses, and highlighted opportunities for discussions of integrity, inclusion, and empathy in cartography and GIScience.

Esri Campus, Redlands, CA
November 2–4, 2022 (Workshops November 1)

Speakers | Presentations | Workshops

This was a hybrid event for both in-person attendees and remote participants.

Meeting updates were posted with the #autocarto2022 on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter the
AutoCarto web pages. A downloadable PDF flyer for the conference was also available.

AutoCarto 2022 was a Regional Cartographic Conference of the International Cartographic Association.

Participants were invited to review the CaGIS and Esri Codes of Conduct,
as well as CaGIS’s Statement on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Important Dates

Conference Co-Chairs
Aileen Buckley, Esri
Dan Cole, Smithsonian Institution

Program Committee
Marguerite Madden, University of Georgia – Co-Chair
Angela Yao, University of Georgia – Co-Chair
Samantha Arundel, U.S. Geological Survey
Barbara Buttenfield, University of Colorado-Boulder
Rex Cammack , The University of Nebraska Omaha
Daniel Cole, Smithsonian Institution
Arzu Coltekin, University of Applied Sciences & Arts Northwestern Switzerland
Tom Cova, University of Utah
Sara Irina Fabrikant, University of Zurich
Song Gao, University of Wisconsin at Madison
Kevin Hawley, U.S. Census Bureau
Marco Helbich, Utrecht University
Bin Jiang, University of Gävle
Caglar Koylu, University of Iowa
Barry Kronenfeld, Eastern Illinois University
Mark Kumler, University of Redlands
Wenwen Li, Arizona State University
Grant McKenzie, McGill University
Liqiu Meng, Technic University of Munich
Thomas Pingel, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Raechel Portelli, Michigan State University/University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Anthony Robinson, The Pennsylvania State University
Amy Rock, Cal Poly Humbolt
Jochen Schiewe, HafenCity University Hamburg
Jerry Shannon, University of Georgia
Shih-Lung Shaw, University of Tennessee
Michael Shin, University of California at Los Angeles
Alex Singleton, University of Liverpool
Gaurav Sinha, Ohio University
Alexandre Sorokine, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Kathleen Stewart, University of Maryland
Wenwu Tang, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Jean-Claude Thill, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Wei Tu, Georgia Southern University
Monica Wachowicz, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
Hongbo Yu, Oklahoma State University
Chuanrong Zhang, University of Connecticut

Organizing Committee
Rex Cammack, University of Nebraska – Omaha
Kari Craun, retired (U.S. Geological Survey)
Eric Delmelle, University of North Carolina – Charlotte
Indy Hurt, Zillow
Barry Kronenfeld, Eastern Illinois University
Mark Kumler, University of Redlands
Thomas Pingel, Virginia Tech University
Amy Rock, Cal Poly Humboldt
Gaurav Sinha, Ohio University
Alexandre Sorokine, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Join the largest Cartography and Geographic Information Science network.